Canadian Association of Cultural Studies – Association canadienne des études culturelles

Established in 2002, the Canadian Association of Cultural Studies – Association canadienne des études culturelles (CACS-ACÉC) is a national organization that airms to promote the interests of those teaching and studying cultural studies in Canada by facilitating the dissemination and exchange of research nationally and internationally, by exploring professional issues, and by organizing scholarly and professional meetings. According to its constitution, CACS-ACÉC is also a forum for wider public engagement. Simon Fraser University will be the host organization for CACS-ACÉC from 2018-2020, mounting two conferences during that period. CACS-ACÉC holds a biannual conference on topics of concern to the academic and non-acadmic communities and normally includes programming that will be of interest to the general public. Central to the mandate of CACS-ACÉC is the development of connections with local community organizations, something that will be pursued both in the conference and in a series of events organized throughout the year. We will be partnering with both artist-run community centres and community outreach organizations in the Lower Mainland. CACS-ACÉC has formerly been hosted by McMaster University, University of Alberta, McGill University, and Wilfried Laurier University. Hosting the conference at Simon Fraser Unversity will provide valuable opportunities for students and faculty involved in cultural studies to meet and network with leading scholars from across North America and beyond. 

The Carceral Cultures Conference is hosted at Simon Fraser University’s Vancouver Campus on the unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations. 

Organizing Committee: Davina Bhandar (Conference Chair); Clint Burnham; Dara Culhane; Jeff Derksen; Milena Droumeva; Zoë Druick (CACS On-site Committee Chair); Samir Gandesha; Adel Iskandar; Christine Kim; Claudette Lauzon; Frédérik Lesage; Helen Leung; Michael C.K. Ma; Kirsten E. McAllister 

The organizers wish to acknowledge the essential support of the following departments and units at SFU: Vice-President Academic; Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology, Office of the Dean; School of Communication; School for the Contemporary Arts; Centre for Policy Studies of Culture and Communities; School for International Studies; Centre for the Comparative Study of Muslim Societies and Cultures; Department of English; Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies; Department of Sociology and Anthropology; Institute for the Humanities.